Frauenarzt Zürich Gynäkologie und Geburtshilfe Gynäkologie und Geburtshilfe Arrange online appointment Menu

Menopause

Diminishing hormone levels

 

The «change of life», or menopause, often goes hand in hand with noticeable physical symptoms. This is a natural, but individual, process: every woman experiences the menopause differently. Even though declining hormone production is quite normal and natural, a long-term hormone deficiency may have a negative impact on overall health, triggering other associated problems.

Hot flushes and outbreaks of sweating are usually the first signs of diminishing hormone levels. There will also be an increased risk of calcification of the blood vessels and bone loss due to falling levels of oestrogen, the female sex hormone which provides a degree of natural protection. But there are ways to compensate for these hormone deficiencies. Prompt treatment can definitely help improve the quality of your life.

 

Hormone profile: the most important parameters

It is advisable to check your hormone levels before opting for hormone replacement therapy (HRT). A hormone profile aids diagnosis and subsequent treatment. Various laboratory tests provide useful information – the following parameters are amongst the most important:

  • Oestradiol, important female sex hormone: provides an indication of menopausal status.
  • Progesterone acts on the endometrium, stabilises the bones and combats ageing of the skin. A deficiency may also lead to emotional symptoms.
  • Testosterone is the most important male sex hormone.
  • DHEA-S plays an important role in the control and progression of the ageing process.
  • LH and FSH are responsible for the production of sex hormones. They are key control parameters for hormonereplacement therapy during the menopause.
  • TSH stimulates the production of thyroid hormone. An undetected underactive thyroid gland and associated lack of thyroid hormone can lead to tiredness and a lack of energy.

 

Enjoy your free time!

The menopause brings physical and possibly also emotional change, but it also heralds a new stage of life with many positive aspects. You are embarking on a new phase in your life with more time to make good use of all the experience you have gained. Put yourself first – now is the time to take care of yourself and your body! Eat a balanced diet, get plenty of exercise and be receptive to what your body is trying to tell you.

Frauenarzt Zürich Gynäkologie und Geburtshilfe Termin buchen Menu

Menopause

Wenn die Hormone nachlassen

 

Die Wechseljahre, auch Menopause genannt, bringen oftmals grosse körperliche Veränderungen mit sich. Dies ist ein natürlicher Prozess. Aber auch ein individueller: jede Frau nimmt ihre Wechseljahre anders wahr. Auch wenn die abnehmende Hormonproduktion ein natürlicher Vorgang ist, können durch langfristigen Hormonmangel Gesundheitsschäden mit Folgeerkrankungen auftreten.

Der sinkende Hormonspiegel kündigt sich meist mit Hitzewallungen und Schweissausbrüchen an. Gleichzeitig steigt das Risiko für Gefässverkalkung und Knochenschwund, denn der natürliche Schutz durch das Geschlechtshormon Östrogen nimmt ab. Doch Hormondefizite können ausgeglichen werden. Mit einer rechtzeitig eingeleiteten Therapie, die hilft, Ihre Lebensqualität zu verbessern.

 

Auf diese Werte kommt es an.

Bevor Sie sich für eine hormonelle Therapie entscheiden, ist es ratsam, Ihren Hormonspiegel zu kennen. Ein Hormonprofil unterstützt die Diagnosestellung und nachfolgende Behandlung. Verschiedene Laboranalysen geben dabei Aufschluss. Die folgenden Laborparameter zählen zu den wichtigsten:

  • Östradiol, wichtiges weibliches Geschlechtshormon: Es gibt Aufschluss über die aktuelle Situation der Wechseljahre
  • Progesteron wirkt auf die Gebärmutterschleimhaut, stabilisiert die Knochen und tritt der Hautalterung entgegen. Ein Mangel kann auch zu seelischen Beschwerden führen
  • Testosteron ist das wichtigste männliche Geschlechtshormon.
  • DHEA-S hat eine wichtige Funktion bei der Steuerung und dem Verlauf des Alterungsprozesses.
  • LH und FSH sind für die Bildung der Geschlechtshormone verantwortlich. Sie stellen wichtige Kontrollparameter für die Hormonbehandlung in den Wechseljahren dar.
  • TSH regt die Produktion des Schidldrüsenhormons an. Eine unerkannte Schilddrüsenunterfunktion, d.h. ein Mangel an Schilddrüsenhormon, kann zu Antriebslosigkeit und Müdigkeit führen.

 

Nutzen Sie die Zeit

Trotz weitreichender körperlicher oder auch seelischer Auswirkungen – bewerten Sie Ihren neuen Lebensabschnitt positiv. Ihr Leben tritt in eine neue Phase ein. Sie haben viele Erfahrungen gemacht, von denen Sie jetzt profitieren können. Nutzen Sie Ihre Zeit für sich und tun Sie sich und Ihrem Körper etwas Gutes. Ernähren Sie sich ausgewogen. Sorgen Sie für ausreichend Bewegung und achten Sie auf die Signale Ihres Körpers.